Pre-launch. Figures on this site are placeholder until each platform has a verified research pass — look for the badge next to every number.

Online income / Research panels

Prolific

Research panels / paid studies

✎ Our verdict

No editor has written a verdict for Prolific yet. The research below is complete; the judgment on top of it is not.

Editors add the verdict in the directory panel after the research pass.

Reviewed Sep 1, 2026 · 28 sources

Typical monthly
$10–15/hour per study when studies are available✓ Verified fact
Time to list
'Join our waitlist in 3 minutes'✓ Verified fact
First payout
After reaching £6/$6 approved balance✓ Verified fact
Cost to start
$0 in fees✓ Verified fact

⚠ The catch

You cannot start when you want to: new sign-ups sit on an invitation-only waitlist for anywhere from hours to many months, and even once you are in, some weeks bring no eligible studies at all.

Not for you if

Anyone who needs money this week (waitlist plus 21-day approval window), anyone outside the supported OECD countries, anyone who uses a VPN or whose PayPal is registered in a different country (automatic account hold), and anyone without a government photo ID.

Best for

People who already have a Prolific account or belong to in-demand demographics (uncommon professions, health conditions, caregivers, veterans) and want a low-stress, no-fee, honestly-paid side stream of $50–200/month rather than a primary income.

What you’d realistically make

FieldWhat we foundProvenanceSource
Advertised claimNo earnings claim made. Platform states researchers must pay at least £6/$8 per hour and are recommended £9/$12 per hour; 'A new task is published every 2 minutes'✓ Verified factprolific.com
Realistic ceilingLimited by study supply, not effort; third-party review reports ~$50–200/month realistic; specialized demographics/AI-tasker groups see more≈ Our estimatesidehustleschool.com
Platform cut0% taken from participant reward; researchers pay a platform fee on top of rewards of 33.3% (academic/non-profit) or 42.8% (corporate)✓ Verified factprolific.com
Cost to start$0 in fees; requires government photo ID, phone number, email, PayPal account in your country, and a device with camera✓ Verified factparticipant-help.prolific.com
Three hours of work$24–45 if three hours of eligible studies are actually available; often far less because study supply is demographic-dependent≈ Our estimatesidehustleschool.com
Your expensesOwn device and internet; possible PayPal currency-conversion fees (USD/GBP rewards); webcam/phone for video ID verification✓ Verified factparticipant-help.prolific.com
Gross vs netProlific charges participants no cash-out fee ("We don't charge fees for cashing out, you'll receive your full approved balance"); PayPal may apply currency-conversion fees. The researcher-side platform fee (33.3%/42.8%) is on top of rewards, not deducted from them.✓ Verified factparticipant-help.prolific.com
Holds a reserveRewards are 'pending' until the researcher approves; auto-approved by Prolific on day 21 after submission (participant-side article says 22 days). 72h cool-off on early cash-outs. Account holds for VPN use, location mismatch, foreign PayPal, etc.✓ Verified factresearcher-help.prolific.com
Low / mid / highLow: £6/$8/hr floor with few studies available; Mid: $10–15/hr on studies, $50–200/month; High: not found≈ Our estimateresearcher-help.prolific.com
Minimum payout£6/$6 combined approved balance across GBP and USD (waived if account is on hold)✓ Verified factparticipant-help.prolific.com
Payout cadenceOnce per 24h (reset midnight UTC) after 4th cash-out; 72-hour cool-off between the first four cash-outs or after changing PayPal address; funds arrive in PayPal within 24 hours, typically sooner✓ Verified factparticipant-help.prolific.com
Payout methodPayPal only✓ Verified factparticipant-help.prolific.com
Time to first dollarUnpredictable: waitlist wait ranges from hours to months; after invitation, verification ~15 min, then first study reward is credited only after researcher approval (days, max 21)✓ Verified factparticipant-help.prolific.com
Time to first payoutAfter reaching £6/$6 approved balance; first four cash-outs have a 72-hour cool-off each; PayPal receipt within 24 hours of cash-out✓ Verified factparticipant-help.prolific.com
Typical reported earnings$10–15/hour per study when studies are available; $50–200/month for an active participant who checks daily (third-party review, tested 2026-05-23)✓ Verified factsidehustleschool.com
Earning unitFixed reward per study (GBP or USD), expressed as an effective reward per hour✓ Verified factresearcher-help.prolific.com
Fees charged to youNone charged by Prolific✓ Verified factparticipant-help.prolific.com

≈ These are our estimates from published rates, not reported earner income. Dense markets run higher and thin ones frequently return nothing at all. Treat the low end as the realistic case.

Company & trust research

Prolific Academic Ltd. (Companies House no. 08991598), 483 Green Lanes, London, England N13 4BS; VAT GB233607523

14 fields sourced0 estimated0 need refresh

FieldWhat we foundProvenanceSource
Company foundedIncorporated 10 April 2014✓ Verified factfind-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk
Help centerhttps://participant-help.prolific.com/✓ Verified factparticipant-help.prolific.com
HeadquartersLondon, UK (registered office 483 Green Lanes, London N13 4BS); also has US presence✓ Verified factfind-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk
Legal entityProlific Academic Ltd. (Companies House no. 08991598), 483 Green Lanes, London, England N13 4BS; VAT GB233607523✓ Verified factfind-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk
Markets servedResidents of most OECD countries plus a few non-OECD (Brazil, Hong Kong, Saudi Arabia, UAE, Qatar); 44 countries listed; eligibility based on current residence, not nationality✓ Verified factparticipant-help.prolific.com
OwnershipPrivate; £25m Series A (July 2023) co-led by Partech and Oxford Science Enterprises; earlier Y Combinator seed✓ Verified factprolific.com
Parent companyNone (independent; described by Prolific as a bootstrapped UK scale-up, profitable since 2020, until £25m Series A in 2023)✓ Verified factprolific.com
Sign-up pagehttps://app.prolific.com/register/participant/join-waitlist/profile✓ Verified factapp.prolific.com
Termshttps://www.prolific.com/privacy-and-legal✓ Verified factprolific.com
Websitehttps://www.prolific.com/participants✓ Verified factprolific.com
Company revenue$350M annualized revenue as of April 2026 (Sacra estimate)✓ Verified factsacra.com
Volume handled380,000 studies/tasks delivered and 8M+ hours of human input in 2025 (Sacra)✓ Verified factsacra.com
Total paid to usersOver $100 million paid to participants to date (as of July 2023)✓ Verified factprolific.com
Typical individual earningsSee earnings.typical_reported ($50–200/month, tier 5). No platform-published figure.✓ Verified factsidehustleschool.com

Company facts come from the research record attached to this platform, with a per-field source and verification date. Anything with no source on file reads as unverified, never as a fact.

Setup, payout & fees

What you need to start

FieldWhat we foundProvenanceSource
Approval timeWaitlist: hours to months or longer; not a queue, not first-come-first-served, no position tracking, no fast-tracking. Sacra reports a 2M+ waitlist.✓ Verified factparticipant-help.prolific.com
Background checksEmail, mobile phone, and photo ID verification via Onfido with live video head-turn check; PayPal must match country of residence✓ Verified factparticipant-help.prolific.com
Time to list'Join our waitlist in 3 minutes'; 'Get verified in 15 minutes' once invited✓ Verified factprolific.com
Where it works44 supported countries listed, mostly OECD members plus Brazil, Hong Kong, Saudi Arabia, UAE, Qatar; residents elsewhere can join the waitlist and may be invited with a valid photo ID, ideally a passport✓ Verified factparticipant-help.prolific.com
Minimum age18+✓ Verified factparticipant-help.prolific.com
Onboarding feesNone≈ Our estimateparticipant-help.prolific.com
What you need18+, resident of a supported (mostly OECD) country, valid ID for that country, PayPal account, one account per person, no VPN✓ Verified factparticipant-help.prolific.com
Sign-up steps1) Register; 2) Join waitlist (automatic); 3) When invited, verify email/phone/ID; 4) Complete practice study ('My First Study'); 5) Fill in 'About You' profile; 6) Take studies as they appear✓ Verified factparticipant-help.prolific.com

How the money moves

FieldWhat we foundProvenanceSource
Platform cut0% taken from participant reward; researchers pay a platform fee on top of rewards of 33.3% (academic/non-profit) or 42.8% (corporate)✓ Verified factprolific.com
Fees charged to youNone charged by Prolific✓ Verified factparticipant-help.prolific.com
Payout methodPayPal only✓ Verified factparticipant-help.prolific.com
Payout cadenceOnce per 24h (reset midnight UTC) after 4th cash-out; 72-hour cool-off between the first four cash-outs or after changing PayPal address; funds arrive in PayPal within 24 hours, typically sooner✓ Verified factparticipant-help.prolific.com
Minimum payout£6/$6 combined approved balance across GBP and USD (waived if account is on hold)✓ Verified factparticipant-help.prolific.com

Taxes, insurance & real risk

FieldWhat we foundProvenanceSource
Deactivation appealAppeals via support chatbot ('I want to submit an appeal') or replying to hold email; review takes ~4 weeks or longer; specific reason may not be disclosed; existing balance can still be cashed out even below £6/$6 minimum✓ Verified factparticipant-help.prolific.com
Protection termsResearchers may only reject for failed attention checks, exceptionally fast completion, or failed authenticity checks; submissions auto-approve and pay on day 21; screened-out participants must be paid at least £0.10/$0.14; underpaying studies trigger researcher account suspension until fixed✓ Verified factresearcher-help.prolific.com
Tax formsProlific issues no 1099; US cash-outs may appear on PayPal's Form 1099-K. Under DAC7 Prolific reports approved earnings for each calendar year to EU/UK tax authorities by 31 January of the following year (applies whether or not you cash out).✓ Verified factparticipant-help.prolific.com
Worker classificationIndependent contractor✓ Verified factparticipant-help.prolific.com

What third parties say

SourceRatingVolumeRetrieved
SurveyPolicenot stated on page; 60.2% 5-star / 4.1% 4-star / 5.7% 3-star / 8.1% 2-star / 22.0% 1-star123Aug 25, 2026
TrustpilotNot found~627 reviews per search-result titleAug 25, 2026

Platform specifics

FieldWhat we foundProvenanceSource
AudienceGeneral consumer pool plus specialized groups (AI taskers, annotation specialists, professionals) that get more work≈ Our estimateparticipant-help.prolific.com
Minimum hourly reward policyResearchers must pay at least £6/$8 per hour (recommended £9/$12), measured on median actual completion time; underpaying researchers are suspended until they top up; participants can 'Report study' and chase adjustment if unpaid after 22 days✓ Verified factparticipant-help.prolific.com
Qualification burdenPrescreening is done via the 'About You' profile, so studies only appear if you already match; screen-outs inside a study must still be paid (min £0.10/$0.14)✓ Verified factparticipant-help.prolific.com
Remote in personRemote/online only✓ Verified factprolific.com
Screening compensationMandatory: researchers must pay screened-out participants a fixed amount set during study setup; minimum £0.10/$0.14✓ Verified factresearcher-help.prolific.com
Session lengthTypically 5–30 minutes per study (third-party); each study shows its estimated time before you accept✓ Verified factsidehustleschool.com
Study formatOnline studies hosted on external tools (Qualtrics, Gorilla, Typeform): behavioral research/decision games and questionnaires, AI model evaluation, consumer research✓ Verified factprolific.com
WaitlistMandatory waitlist for new sign-ups; invitations based on demographic supply/demand, not order; hours to months+; no position visibility; 2M+ on waitlist per Sacra✓ Verified factparticipant-help.prolific.com

Sourcing & freshness

Last verified
Sep 1, 2026
Sources cited
28
Research version
R4