Rent what you own / Rent your car
Turo
vehicle rental (host side)
✎ Our verdict
No editor has written a verdict for Turo yet. The research below is complete; the judgment on top of it is not.
Editors add the verdict in the directory panel after the research pass.
Reviewed Sep 1, 2026 · 20 sources
⚠ The catch
You are putting your own car (and its depreciation, wear, and up to $2,750 per incident) on the line for a gross average Turo itself admits ignores maintenance and insurance, with no coverage for lost income while the car sits in a body shop.
Not for you if
Anyone whose car is leased, older than 2010, over 130k miles, or has a branded title; anyone who cannot absorb a $1,500–$2,750 damage bill plus weeks of downtime; NY hosts relying on liability coverage; CA/OR hosts whose sharing income could exceed state limits; anyone who needs the car daily.
Best for
Owners of a paid-off, newer second car in a high-demand metro or airport market who can handle handoffs and cleaning and treat it as a small business with tax records.
Start here
Paid link. We may earn a commission — it never changes our ranking or our verdict.
Go to Turo ↗What you’d realistically make
| Field | What we found | Provenance | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Advertised claim | "Hosts across the US earn $10,489 per year per car on average" ($874/month); 3 cars $32,547; 5 cars $52,445; "Cars are booked 15 days/month on average" | ✓ Verified fact | turo.com ↗ |
| Realistic ceiling | Scales with fleet size; Turo advertises $52,445/yr gross for 5 cars | ✓ Verified fact | turo.com ↗ |
| Platform cut | Host keeps 70% (More Peace of Mind), 80% (Balanced), or 90% (More Earnings) of trip price; i.e. Turo takes 10–30% from the host side, plus separate guest-side fees | ✓ Verified fact | turo.com ↗ |
| Cost to start | $0 to list; real costs: eligible vehicle (2010+, <130k miles, clean title), per-trip damage responsibility $250–$2,750, depreciation, cleaning, fuel, maintenance; vehicles valued $125k+ need a manufacturer-installed tracker | ✓ Verified fact | turo.com ↗ |
| Your expenses | Depreciation, fuel/oil, maintenance, repairs not covered, insurance, lease/loan payments, cleaning, Turo fees (all listed as host business expenses in Turo/EY tax guide) | ✓ Verified fact | support-resources.turo.com ↗ |
| Gross vs net | Turo's $10,489/yr figure is gross of ownership costs; 1099-K reports unadjusted gross sales that "exceed the total amount you received" | ✓ Verified fact | turo.com ↗ |
| Payout cadence | Per trip; "We typically initiate payment three business days after trip ends" (help-article meta description) | ✓ Verified fact | help.turo.com ↗ |
| Payout method | Direct deposit (ACH) and PayPal for US hosts per third-party guide; Stripe is Turo's payment processor per Terms | ✓ Verified fact | rentalero.com ↗ |
| Time to first dollar | Listing approval 'typically within 24 hours' per third-party guide; first dollar depends on first booking — Turo says average car is booked 15 days/month | ≈ Our estimate | thedailyautomotive.com ↗ |
| Time to first payout | ~3 business days after first trip ends | ✓ Verified fact | help.turo.com ↗ |
| Typical reported earnings | One host on Blind (Aug 2022) reported $700–1,200/month gross for one car over 3 months | ✓ Verified fact | teamblind.com ↗ |
| Earning unit | per rental day (host receives a % of trip price) | ✓ Verified fact | turo.com ↗ |
| Fees charged to you | Host cancellation fees: $25 (>24h before), $50 (<24h), $150 no-show (excused for All-Star Hosts); policy 'violation fees' exist (amounts not retrieved) | ✓ Verified fact | turo.com ↗ |
≈ These are our estimates from published rates, not reported earner income. Dense markets run higher and thin ones frequently return nothing at all. Treat the low end as the realistic case.
Company & trust research
Turo, Inc.
12 fields sourced0 estimated2 need refresh
| Field | What we found | Provenance | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Company founded | 2010 (BBB: started 11/23/2010) | ✓ Verified fact | techcrunch.com ↗ |
| Help center | https://help.turo.com | ✓ Verified fact | help.turo.com ↗ |
| Headquarters | 111 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94104 | ✓ Verified fact | bbb.org ↗ |
| Legal entity | Turo, Inc. | ✓ Verified fact | turo.com ↗ |
| Markets served | US, Canada, Australia, France, UK | ✓ Verified fact | techcrunch.com ↗ |
| Ownership | Private; filed S-1 Jan 2022, withdrew IPO Feb 2025 | ✓ Verified fact | techcrunch.com ↗ |
| Parent company | Turo Inc. is an independent company — it is the top-level legal entity, not a subsidiary of another company. Its Privacy Policy states operations run through "Turo Inc. and its subsidiaries" (e.g. TuroUK Ltd in the UK, Turo France SAS in France) — i.e. Turo Inc. is the parent, not the other way around. SEC EDGAR (CIK 0001514587) shows Turo Inc. filed its own IPO registration (S-1, first filed 2022-01-10, last amended 2024-11-14) but filed a Form RW withdrawing that registration on 2025-02-13, and has made no SEC filing since — it remains privately held as of today with no parent company on record. | Needs refresh | sec.gov ↗ |
| Sign-up page | https://turo.com/us/en/car-rental/united-states/list-your-car | ✓ Verified fact | turo.com ↗ |
| Terms | https://turo.com/us/en/policies/terms | ✓ Verified fact | turo.com ↗ |
| Website | https://turo.com | ✓ Verified fact | turo.com ↗ |
| Company revenue | Net revenue $879.8M (2023); $958M (2024); net income $15.6M (2023) | ✓ Verified fact | techcrunch.com ↗ |
| Typical individual earnings | Turo-advertised average $10,489/yr per car gross; ~150,000 active hosts, 350,000 listings (Sep 2024) | ✓ Verified fact | turo.com ↗ |
Company facts come from the research record attached to this platform, with a per-field source and verification date. Anything with no source on file reads as unverified, never as a fact.
Setup, payout & fees
What you need to start
| Field | What we found | Provenance | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Approval time | "Turo typically approves listings within 24 hours" (third-party) | ✓ Verified fact | thedailyautomotive.com ↗ |
| Background checks | Valid driver's license; must "meet state-specific host eligibility requirements"; identity verification per Terms | ✓ Verified fact | turo.com ↗ |
| Where it works | US-wide; NY gets only state-minimum liability by default; WA physical damage handled via Turo-purchased insurance; CA and OR have laws limiting hosting income in some scenarios | ✓ Verified fact | turo.com ↗ |
| Minimum age | 21 (18 in UK and France) | ✓ Verified fact | turo.com ↗ |
| Onboarding fees | None — "Free to list" | ✓ Verified fact | turo.com ↗ |
| What you need | Vehicle 2010 or newer, under 130,000 miles, clean title; sedans/SUVs/trucks/minivans eligible; $125k+ vehicles need manufacturer tracker | ✓ Verified fact | turo.com ↗ |
| Sign-up steps | Create account → add profile photo, connect bank → List your car (make/model/year/mileage) → upload 10+ photos → set price → choose earnings plan → approval | ✓ Verified fact | thedailyautomotive.com ↗ |
How the money moves
| Field | What we found | Provenance | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Platform cut | Host keeps 70% (More Peace of Mind), 80% (Balanced), or 90% (More Earnings) of trip price; i.e. Turo takes 10–30% from the host side, plus separate guest-side fees | ✓ Verified fact | turo.com ↗ |
| Fees charged to you | Host cancellation fees: $25 (>24h before), $50 (<24h), $150 no-show (excused for All-Star Hosts); policy 'violation fees' exist (amounts not retrieved) | ✓ Verified fact | turo.com ↗ |
| Payout method | Direct deposit (ACH) and PayPal for US hosts per third-party guide; Stripe is Turo's payment processor per Terms | ✓ Verified fact | rentalero.com ↗ |
| Payout cadence | Per trip; "We typically initiate payment three business days after trip ends" (help-article meta description) | ✓ Verified fact | help.turo.com ↗ |
Taxes, insurance & real risk
| Field | What we found | Provenance | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Arbitration clause | Binding individual arbitration with class-action waiver | ✓ Verified fact | turo.com ↗ |
| Deactivation appeal | Turo may "limit, suspend, or terminate" accounts at its sole discretion; no formal appeal process found | ≈ Our estimate | help.turo.com ↗ |
| Insurance terms | Up to $750,000 third-party liability via Travelers Excess and Surplus Lines; NY: state-minimum only unless host opts into More Peace of Mind ($300,000 combined limit); WA: physical damage via Turo-purchased insurance | ✓ Verified fact | turo.com ↗ |
| Protection terms | Physical damage reimbursement (contractual, 'not insurance') for lesser of repair cost, ACV, or $200,000, minus host's per-trip responsibility $250/$1,500/$2,750; excludes wear and tear (dings/scratches ≤3 in), loss of hosting income, replacement vehicle | ✓ Verified fact | turo.com ↗ |
| Tax forms | 1099-K; 2025 federal threshold >$20,000 and >200 transactions; lower in AR ($2,500), DC/MD/MA/MT/VT/VA ($600), IL ($1,000 + 4 txns), NJ ($1,000); reports unadjusted gross | ✓ Verified fact | turo.com ↗ |
| Worker classification | Host (vehicle owner running a rental business); Turo tax guide: most report as non-material participants on Schedule 1, material participants on Schedule C with possible self-employment tax | ✓ Verified fact | support-resources.turo.com ↗ |
Know before you start
Advertised earnings are gross
“Earnings have not been reduced to reflect vehicle ownership costs like maintenance and insurance.”
Verified Aug 25, 2026 · turo.com ↗
Know before you start
Forced arbitration / class-action waiver
“Any and all disputes, claims, or controversies that have arisen or may arise at any time between you and Turo...will be resolved by binding arbitration”
Verified Aug 25, 2026 · turo.com ↗
Know before you start
New York liability coverage reduced to state minimum by default
“State minimum liability coverage is provided for vehicles in the state of New York.”
Verified Aug 25, 2026 · turo.com ↗
Know before you start
Opaque 'risk-based' host share adjustment on last-minute bookings (exact % not disclosed)
“Trips booked at the last minute...earnings will be adjusted to reflect that”
Verified Aug 25, 2026 · turo.com ↗
Know before you start
Take-rate / deductible change (Jan 2026): zero-deductible plan removed, 80% tier deductible doubled
“The current 5 plans will be reduced to 3 simple options ... With inflation driving higher repair costs over the past several years, these changes ensure we can continue providing strong, reliable plans”
Verified Aug 25, 2026 · turo.com ↗
What third parties say
| Source | Rating | Volume | Retrieved |
|---|---|---|---|
| BBB ↗ | A (not accredited) | 3,029 complaints total | Aug 25, 2026 |
| Blind community ↗ | Not found | 2 anecdotes | Aug 25, 2026 |
| Trustpilot ↗ | Not found | ~4,100–4,500 reviews per search-result titles | Aug 25, 2026 |
Platform specifics
| Field | What we found | Provenance | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Asset eligibility | 2010+ model year, <130,000 miles, clean title; $125k+ vehicles need manufacturer tracker; ACV cap $200,000 | ✓ Verified fact | turo.com ↗ |
| Claims deductibles | Host per-trip damage responsibility $250/$1,500/$2,750 by plan; reimbursement capped at repair cost/ACV/$200k; WA claims via Turo-purchased insurance | ✓ Verified fact | turo.com ↗ |
| Depreciation | Not covered by Turo; wear and tear (≤3 in dings/scratches, interior scuffing) explicitly excluded from reimbursement; depreciation is a deductible expense per tax guide | ✓ Verified fact | turo.com ↗ |
| Downtime | No loss-of-hosting-income or replacement vehicle coverage: "Host earnings plans don't include reimbursement for wear and tear, reimbursement for loss of hosting income, or a replacement vehicle if a vehicle is being repaired." | ✓ Verified fact | turo.com ↗ |
| Mileage limits | Host-set daily distance; minimum 200 mi/day for standard cars (100/150 Deluxe, 75 Super Deluxe); overage rate = daily price ÷ daily distance | ✓ Verified fact | turo.com ↗ |
| Ownership finance restrictions | Leased: "Most lease agreements don't permit listing a leased vehicle on a rental platform." Financed: generally permitted but check loan for commercial-use restrictions; NY leased/loaned vehicles "may need additional coverage" | ✓ Verified fact | turo.com ↗ |
| Protection plans and take rate | More Peace of Mind: host 70%, $250 responsibility; Balanced: 80%, $1,500; More Earnings: 90%, $2,750 (effective 2026-01-07). Prior: 60/0, 75/$250, 80/$750, 85/$1,625, 90/$2,500 | ✓ Verified fact | support-resources.turo.com ↗ |
| State specific | NY: state-minimum liability by default, $300k combined limit only on 70% plan; WA: physical damage via insurance; CA/OR: laws that limit "the amount of income hosts are supposed to earn from car sharing in certain scenarios" | ✓ Verified fact | turo.com ↗ |
Sourcing & freshness
- Last verified
- Sep 1, 2026
- Sources cited
- 20
- Research version
- R4
- Getting paid | US hosts (meta text only) ↗ · Turo Help · retrieved Aug 25, 2026
- US host protection plans available before 1/7/26 ↗ · Turo · retrieved Aug 25, 2026
- Tax guide for US Turo hosts (EY, Jan 2023) ↗ · Turo/EY · retrieved Aug 25, 2026
- Important updates to host distance settings (2020) ↗ · Turo blog · retrieved Aug 25, 2026
- US Tax Resources for Turo Hosts ↗ · Turo · retrieved Aug 25, 2026
- Earnings Plans for Turo Hosts ↗ · Turo · retrieved Aug 25, 2026
- Key updates shaping the marketplace in 2026 ↗ · Turo · retrieved Aug 25, 2026
- Insurance & protection at Turo ↗ · Turo · retrieved Aug 25, 2026
- Rent My Car Out | Make Money Sharing Your Car on Turo ↗ · Turo · retrieved Aug 25, 2026
- Turo Host Referral ↗ · Turo · retrieved Aug 25, 2026
- Cancellation policy ↗ · Turo · retrieved Aug 25, 2026
- Turo Terms of Service ↗ · Turo · retrieved Aug 25, 2026
- Turo | BBB Business Profile ↗ · BBB · retrieved Aug 25, 2026
- Turo Affiliate Program - FlexOffers ↗ · FlexOffers · retrieved Aug 25, 2026
- Turo S-1 analysis ↗ · Ringing the Bell · retrieved Aug 25, 2026
- Turo S-1 update coverage ↗ · TechCrunch · retrieved Aug 25, 2026
- Turo scraps plans for an IPO ↗ · TechCrunch · retrieved Aug 25, 2026
- How to Rent Out My Car on Turo (2026) ↗ · The Daily Automotive · retrieved Aug 25, 2026
- When Does Turo Pay Out? ↗ · Rentalero · retrieved Aug 25, 2026
- Anyone have cars on Turo? ↗ · Blind · retrieved Aug 25, 2026